Let there be CAKE!

Confession time… I have a serious sweet tooth- one that could quite easily have desert for breakfast lunch and dinner and in fact, given a restaurant menu, I realise now I unknowingly flick past the starters and mains to adorn the desert menu, wondering which sweet treat to choose. Come to think of it I can’t remember ever favouring a packet of crisps over a bar of chocolate!

And that’s when I saw it, The Cake and Bake show 2014must for a girl with a serious sweet tooth.

So it was decided, a friend and I visited the show last Sunday to sample the delicious offerings the show had to offer and maybe pick up a few tips on how to improve my (somewhat mediocre) baking skills along the way.

IMG-20141005-WA0060k

Pretty as a picture… Inspired by the simple presentation, these little cupcakes could easily be done at home and would make a great little addition to a party.           

IMG-20141005-WA0109IMG-20141005-WA0145l

Winding past an array of baking/party/gifting goodies, there were hundreds of achingly scrumptious looking bakes and treats tempting enough to take home. There were display tables , classrooms where you could learn from some celebrity chefs, loads and loads of baking supplies, boxes, tins, cases, absolutely anything and everything!

IMG-20141005-WA0045

IMG-20141005-WA0186l

I bought a few cupcakes from Ms Cupcake stall which is a vegan bakery based in Brixton and my goodness I could not tell there were no butter in sight. This icing, piped sky high was thick rich and very sweet, just like butter-cream. My personal favourite item from her, the ferrero rocher “ambassador” monster of a cupcake was utterly delicious (though did require taking excess icing off).

IMG-20141005-WA0065

The Ms. Cupcake stall. Filled with vegan and some gluten free bakes.

IMG-20141005-WA0041  IMG-20141005-WA0056

 

 

 

 

 

A selection of different brownies and bags full of supplies later I left inspired to attempt to craft some sugar flowers with the sugarpaste I bought and bake something new.

2 thoughts on “Let there be CAKE!

Leave a Reply

